Annual Georgian Culture Festival in Cyprus - Cyprus Symphony Orchestra (Lefkosia)

Joining in the celebrations of the Annual Georgian Culture Festival in Cyprus, the CySO presents the highly evocative “Largo and Allegro for Strings, Piano and Timpani” by Georgian composer Giya Alexandrovich Kancheli (b. 1935), with guest soloist Elisso Bolkvadze continuing with Saint-Saens’ Second piano concerto, the capricious stylistic changes of which prompted Polish pianist and composer Zygmunt Stojowski to remark that it “begins with Bach and ends with Offenbach.” The concert ends with Mozart and his last symphony to boot, his no.41, considered one of the greatest symphonies ever written.

Kancheli: Largo and Allegro for strings, piano and timpani
Saint-Saëns: Piano concerto no. 2 in G minor, op. 22
A. Mozart: Symphony no. 41 in C major, K. 551 (“Jupiter”)

Soloist: Elisso Bolkvadze (piano)
Conductor: Jens Georg Bachmann

Supporters: Rialto Theatre, Limassol Municipality

Strovolos Municipal Theatre
Strovolos Avenue 100
Strovolos, Lefkosia, Cyprus
Phone: +357 22 313 010

Ticket prices: 12 Euro, 7 Euro (18-26 yrs, pensioners), 5 Euro (under 18)
Ticket presales: Strovolos Municipal Theatre (100 Strovolos Avenue, 2020 Strovolos)
Online at
Pallas Theatre Box Office (Regenis and Arsinoes corner, Nicosia 1010, 22 410181), Wed 16:00-19:00
Strovolos Municipal Theare Box Office, 2 hrs before the concert

Information: +357 22 463 144,

Saturday, December 08, 2018, 20:30

Nicosia / Lefkosia Municipality, Cyprus
Cultural / Music