Annual Georgian Culture Festival in Cyprus - Cyprus Symphony Orchestra (Lemesos)

Joining in the celebrations of the Annual Georgian Culture Festival in Cyprus, the CySO presents the highly evocative “Largo and Allegro for Strings, Piano and Timpani” by Georgian composer Giya Alexandrovich Kancheli (b. 1935), with guest soloist Elisso Bolkvadze continuing with Saint-Saens’ Second piano concerto, the capricious stylistic changes of which prompted Polish pianist and composer Zygmunt Stojowski to remark that it “begins with Bach and ends with Offenbach.” The concert ends with Mozart and his last symphony to boot, his no.41, considered one of the greatest symphonies ever written.

Kancheli: Largo and Allegro for strings, piano and timpani
Saint-Saëns: Piano concerto no. 2 in G minor, op. 22
A. Mozart: Symphony no. 41 in C major, K. 551 (“Jupiter”)

Soloist: Elisso Bolkvadze (piano)
Conductor: Jens Georg Bachmann

Supporters: Rialto Theatre, Limassol Municipality

Rialto Theatre
Andrea Drousioti 19
Platia Iroon
Lemesos 3603, Cyprus
Phone: 7777 7745

Ticket prices: 12 Euro, 7 Euro (18-26 yrs, pensioners), 5 Euro (under 18)
Ticket presales: Rialto Theatre (Andrea Drousioti 19, Limassol 3040, 7777 7745)
Online at

Information: +357 22 463 144,

Friday, December 07, 2018, 20:30

Limassol / Lemesos Municipality, Cyprus
Cultural / Music