CHAMBER MUSIC CONCERTS with musicians of the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra “With the sound of winds – Mussorgski and Michaelides” (Lefkosia)

Within the scope of the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra’s Chamber Music Concerts, five wind players join forces for an interesting proposal comprising two suites originally written for piano. For who isn’t familiar with Mussorgski’s “Pictures at an Exhibition” which, however, may be better-known through Ravel’s orchestral arrangement? Well, here’s a chance to “view” these pictures from a different perspective! And that’s also the case with Cypriot composer Solon Michaelides’ “Greek Suite”, which, even though initially written for piano, was later arranged by the composer himself for cello and piano, while in this concert it’s presented in yet another arrangement, preserving however all the grace and finesse of the original work. Five wind players, two suites, Lefkosia and Lemesos!

Mussorgski: Pictures at an Exhibition, Suite (arr.: J. Linckelmann)
Michaelides: Greek Suite (arr.: G. Georgiou)
Virginie Bove (flute), Simeon Spasov (oboe), George Georgiou (clarinet)
Giovanni Galetti (bassoon), Vlad Andrei Buzdugan (french horn)

Supporter: Dr. Nefen Michaelides Professional Music School

Rigainis and Arsinois corner
Pafos Gate, Old Lefkosia
1010 Lefkosia, Cyprus
Phone: +357 22 410 181

Ticket price: €5

Ticket presales:
Pallas Theatre (Rigenis and Arsinoes corner, Nicosia 1010, +357 22 410 181)
Online at
Box Office, Wed 16:00-19:00 and 1 hr before the concert

Information:+357 22 463 144,

Saturday, February 16, 2019, 17:00

Nicosia / Lefkosia Municipality, Cyprus
Cultural / Music