The Cyprus Symphony Orchestra welcomes again on stage the Italian conductor Silvia Massareli, to present the evening programme titled “Concerto for Orchestra”.
The programme includes the following works: 
Fr. Delius: Two pieces for small orchestra
A. Roussel: Concert pour petit orchestre
I. Stravinsky: Pulcinella Suite
A few words about the programme: 
Frederic Delius’s Two pieces for small orchestra (1911-12), titled “On hearing the first cuckoo in spring” and “Summer night on the river” are two miniature tone poems of alluring character, rich in nature sounds and imagery. Albert Roussel’s Concerto for small orchestra (1927) is a remarkably characterful work exhibiting some of the composer’s typical traits: energized rhythmic drive and richly colourful and brilliant orchestration. Roussel probably called it a concerto in the French Baroque sense of the word: a large scale work for an instrumental ensemble. Igor Stravinsky’s Pulcinella Suite is comprised of eight movements from his ballet Pulcinella (1920), the first masterpiece of his Neo-classical output. The work exhibits Stravinsky’s fascination witheighteenth century music and musical forms. As he remarked: “Pulcinella was my discovery of the past, the epiphany through which the whole of my late work became possible.”

Markideio Municipal Theatre
Andrea Geroudi 27, 8010 Pafos
Telephone No.:  +357 26222286
Date: 4 November 2020
Time: 20:30

Pallas Theatre, Pafos Gate
Rigainis and Arsinois corner 1010 Lefkosia
Telephone No.: +357 22410181
Date: 5 November 2020 Wednesday 
Time: 20:30
Supporters: Pafos Municipality
Ticket prices: €12, €7 (18-26 yrs, pensioners), €5 (under 18)
Ticket presales:
Tickets for all concerts can be purchased online at For the concert in Nicosia, tickets are also available at the Pallas Theatre Box Office every Wednesday 4-7pm. Kindly note that tickets will not be available at the theatre box offices on the concert day.  
Information: 22 463144,

Nicosia, Cyprus
04/11/2020 - 05/11/2020
Cultural / Music