Easter Concerts by CySO (Lefkosia)

With Greek Orthodox Holy Week just around the corner, the CySO offers us a concert full of pain and passion. The first work, Rudolph Barshai’s transcription for string orchestra of Shostakovich’s String Quartet no. 8, which the composer wrote in just three days in July 1960, shortly after being diagnosed with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. A work which the composer himself considered his epitaph. The programme continues with anguish at the death of Asa, Peer Gynt’s mother, but also with a threnody in contemporary Latvian composer Peteris Vasks’ “Musica Dolorosa”. Last but not least, Haydn’s “Passion” symphony, a name not coined by the composer himself but rather given following a performance of it in the German city of Schwerin during Holy Week of 1790. And, as musicologist H. C. Robbins Landon notes, a work “dark-hued, somber – even tragic.”

D. Shostakovich: Chamber symphony op. 110a
E. Grieg: Peer Gynt Suite no. 1, op. 46: II. Ase’s death
P. Vasks: Musica dolorosa for strings (Cyprus premiere)
J. Haydn: Symphony no. 49 in F minor (“The Passion”)

Conductor: Jens Georg Bachmann

Supporters: Rialto Theatre, Lemesos Municipality

Rigainis and Arsinois corner
Pafos Gate, Old Lefkosia
1010 Lefkosia, Cyprus
Phone: +357 22 410 181

Ticket prices: 12 Euro, 7 Euro (18-26 yrs, pensioners), 5 Euro (under 18)

Ticket presales:
Pallas Theatre (Regenis and Arsinoes corner, Lefkosia 1010, 22 410181)
Online at www.cyso.org.cy
Box Office, Wed 16:00-19:00 and 2 hrs before the concert

Information: +357 22 463 144, www.cyso.org.cy

Thursday, March 29, 2018, 20:30

Nicosia / Lefkosia Municipality, Cyprus
Cultural / Music