“Orchestral Treasures From The Past ” Neighbourhood Concerts celebrating International Museum Day (Lefkosia)

An orchestral masterpiece exemplifies not only the technical mastery of the composer who brought it to life, but also his passion in harnessing the possibilities inherent in the wonderful kaleidoscope of orchestral colours. In this concert, the refined and expressive austerity of the Baroque, the Classical attention to perfection, the penetrating emotional profusion of Romanticism, and the eclecticism of the twentieth century find common place in the colours, dramatic potential, and brilliance of the classical orchestra. Each piece, exudes the “scent” of the epoch that created it. Conductor Petros Stylianou and the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra are ready to indulge you in a journey through time, through the magical world of orchestral music!

F. Handel: Water Music, Suite no. 1 in F major: no. 7 Minuet
Haydn: Symphony no. 97 in C major, Hob.I:97: III. Menuetto e Trio: Allegretto
Skalkottas: Greek Dances for strings: “Epirotikos”, “Kretikos”, “Kleftikos”
v. Beethoven: Symphony no. 4 in B flat major, op. 60: Finale
Dvořák: Polka and Finale from the Czech Suite in D major, op. 39
Hadjiloizou: Servikos dance (Cyprus dance no. 1)

Conductor – Presenter: Petros Stylianou

Byzantine Museum, Cultural Centre of Archbishop Makarios III Foundation,
Plateia Archiepiskopou Kyprianou, (within the Archbishopric)
Lefkosia, Cyprus
Phone: Tel: +357 22 430 008

The concert is part of the events celebrating International Museum Day

Entrance: Free

In collaboration with the Athienou Municipality and the Cultural Centre of Archbishop Makarios III Foundation.

Information: +357 22 463 144, www.cyso.org.cy

Thursday, May 16, 2019, 20:00

Nicosia / Lefkosia Municipality, Cyprus
Cultural / Music