Russian Night CySO & CySO (Lefkosia)

Side by Side Concerts

Uniting their forces once again, the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra and the Cyprus Youth Symphony Orchestra will jointly pay a tribute to the exquisite lyricism and drama of the Russian and Soviet musical past. An intriguing selection of works by Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich will guide you through the orchestral mastery of the greatest Russian/Soviet symphonists. Tchaikovsky is not merely the quintessential Russian Romantic composer. History recognises him as the cornerstone of the Russian symphonic style, and his impressive legacy played a vital role in the formation of Shostakovich’s brilliant symphonic idiom.

Four works, two legendary Russian masters, presented by Cyprus’ two most vigorous symphonic ensembles!

I. Tchaikovsky: Symphony no. 4 in F minor, op. 36
Shostakovich: Festive Overture in A major, op. 96
I. Tchaikovsky: Andante cantabile for cello and string orchestra 1812 Overture, op. 49

Soloists: from the CyYSO
Conductor: Jens Georg Bachmann

Skali Aglantzias
Agiou Georgiou 15
Aglantzia, Lefkosia 2108, Cyprus
Phone: +257 22 462 233

Tickets: Ticket price: €12, €7 (18-26 yrs, pensioners), €5 (under 18)
Ticket presales:
Skali Aglantzias: Online at and 2 hours before the concert.

Information: +357 22 463 144,

Monday, July 01, 2019, 21:00

Nicosia / Aglantzia, Cyprus
Cultural / Music